Ajimobi Assents to  35 LCDAs Bill

Political Appointees

Governor Abiola Ajimobi of Oyo State has assented to the bill on the creation of 35 Local Government Development Areas (LCDAs) in the state.

Briefing newsmen after the executive council meeting of the state, the Commissioner for Information, Culture and Tourism Mr. Toye Arulogun said that the bill tagged Re-A Law to Further Amend the Local Government Law, 2001 enacted by the state house of assembly gave legal impetus to the creation of LCDAs in the state and it was assented to by the governor on October 6, 2016.


Arulogun said that the governor assented to the bill after extensive deliberations on the legislation by the state house of assembly, saying that a committee would be setup to formulate the modalities for the smooth take off of the LCDAs.

The government spokesman said “may I recall that the Oyo state Government had announced the creation of LCDAs on August 23, 2016 in response to a correspondence from the Oyo State House of Assembly requesting the Executive arm to create LCDAs in order to facilitate development at the grassroots.

The State Assembly at its sitting on Thursday, June 16, 2016, discussed a motion bothering on the creation of LCDAs and subsequently sent correspondence on it to the executive for consideration.

Arulogun stressed that there would be fourteen (14) LCDAs in Ibadan zone, two (2) in Ibarapa zone, four (4) 4 Oyo zone, seven (7) in Ogbomoso zone and eight (8) in Oke-ogun zone adding that with the creation of the LCDAs development would be hastened in local communities and government would be brought closer to the people.

Aruolgun explained that that two LDCAs were created from Akinyele: Akinyele East and Akinyele south with headquarters at Ikereku and Igbo-Oloyin respectively; Lagelu has Lagelu West and Lagelu North with HQs at Olorunda Aba and Oyedeji; Egbeda has Ajorosun with the Hq at Olodo; Ona-Ara: Inukan- Ajia; Oluyole LG: Akorede-Olode; Ido: Omi-Apata-Omi-Adio; Ibadan North: Are latosa – Samonda and Irepodun – Ijokodo; Ibadan North East: Ibadan East-Agugu; Ibadan North West: Oke-badan North – Eleyele; Ibadan South East: Ibadan South – Scout Camp; and Ibadan south west has Ibadan west with Alesinloye as the Hq.

Also, Ibarapa East has Ibarapa North East with Hq at Lanlate; Ibarapa North: Ibarapa North west – Igangan; Afijio: Afijio West – Ilora; Atiba: Soro – Oke Isuwin; Oyo West: Oyo South West – Akeetan; Oyo East: Oyo South East – Apaara Oyo; Ogbomoso North: Ogbomoso Central – Oja-Igbo; Ogbomoso South: Ogbomoso South West – Ajegunle Ibafon; Ogo-Oluwa: Ogo-Oluwa West – Odo Oba (Oja-Oba); Surulere: Surulere North – Orile-Igbon and Surulere South – Oko; Oriire: Oriire South – Olokoto; Oriire North – Olokoto; Saki West: Asabari – Kinnikinni and Wewe – Idi-Araba and Kajola which has Iwa LCDA and ilero has the headquarter.

In addition, Iwajowa has Iganna with HQ at Iganna; Saki East: Ifeloju – Ogbooro; Atisbo: Atisbo South – Ago-Are; while Iseyin has Iseyin South – Molete/Koso and Araromi – Ado-Awaye.

He concluded by reiterating that the creation of LCDAs is the government’s response to the yearnings of the people of Oyo State for faster development at the grassroots and a strategic management vehicle for more effective and efficient public service delivery.



Leave a Comment


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password