Drama as Ataoja of Osogbo refuses to swear with holy book before panel

Ataoja of Osogbo

It was a mid-drama at the Osun state Standing Commission of Inquiry on Disturbance of Public Peace, as the Ataoja of Osogbo, Oba Jimoh Olanipekun, refused to swear on holy book.

The Muslim monarch who was given the Holy Quran to swear, however, demanded for water, which he held and swore.

After sweating with the water, Oba Olanipekun split the water on the land and handed over the cup to the court registrar.

The three Baloguns, Kujenyo, Fagbemi/Biiro and Balogun Agoro, had dragged the monarch and six others before the panel, claiming that only their compounds are entitled to the Chieftaincy title of Balogun and Otun Balogun.

The three petitioners also alleged that the lesser chiefs under the Balogun and Otun Balogun have just been added to the list of Chiefs by Oba Olanipekun.

READ Also  FG re-arraigns Senate president over false asset declaration, money laundering

However, the monarch dispelled the claims of the petitioners, saying that the lesser Chiefs have been in the Chieftaincy Declaration in 1974 during the reign of Oba Samuel Adenle.

Oba Olanipekun also refuted allegation by the petitioners that the Chieftaincy Declaration was secretly made by Oba Adenle, saying the late monarch followed the existing law in the declaration.

He explained that the Balogun and Otun Balogun were not the only declaration made at the time, noting that many Chieftaincy declarations were also made.

Other Chieftaincy declaration made, according to Ataoja includes: Jagun and Otuun-Jagun of Osogbo, Eesa of Osogbo, Akogun of Osogbo, Ataoja of Osogbo, Olufon of Ifon, Olobu of Ilobu, Elerin of Erin-Osun, among others.

READ Also  'Leave me out of it' - Obasanjo to Adoke

Ataoja also explained that the petitioners have lost in the three judgments of the High courts and Appeal court.

He stated that the outcome of the judgment was that the position of Balogun and Otun Balogun were promotional, wondering why the petitioners have chosen to approach the panel of inquiry instead of going to the supreme court.

Justice Aderibigbe Adeigbe-led panel, however, adjourned the matter to December 17, 2016.

By Lateef Dada, Osogbo



Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password